Our Mission

The Rock Hill Symphony Orchestra’s mission is to inspire, engage, and enrich the lives of community members with the transformative power of symphonic music through excellence in live performance, educational programs, and community activities.

Our History


The Rock Hill Symphony was established in 2017 by a group of musicians and supporters in Rock Hill, South Carolina and serves all of York County. RHSO is a fully professional orchestra made up of some of the finest players from throughout the region. In 2018, the Board of Directors appointed Dr. David Rudge as the Symphony's Music Director and Conductor. Rock Hill Symphony is a tax exempt, nonprofit 501c3 organization.


Community Engagement

The Rock Hill Symphony is committed to developing and nurturing partnerships in communities throughout Rock Hill and York County. We seek to provide opportunities for people of all ages and backgrounds to actively participate in the life of the Symphony. The Maestro and musicians from the orchestra are visiting local schools to speak with and perform for students as well as give masterclasses for young musicians at local high schools. RHSO will also be offering special Family Concerts and outreach concerts at different locations in Rock Hill and York County.

Find out more

Board of Directors


Dr. Sarah Lynn Hayes, President

Dr. William Terwilliger, Immediate Past President

D. Jeffery Sligh, Vice-President 

Dr. Thomas Hildreth, Treasurer

TBD, Secretary

Robert H. Breakfield

William Easley, Development Director

Dr. Elda Franklin, 

Community Engagement Director

Dr. Al Leonard, Volunteer Coordinator

Erin McManus



Bob Thompson, 

Development Associate

Ryan Knott, 

Personnel Manager 

Ciara Maloney, 

 Music Librarian

Hayden Denesha, 

Stage Manager

Advisory Council


Ashley Barron  

Terry Beck  

Dr. Andrew Cooperstock  

Matthew Dosch

Donald Wilson Harper 

Dr. Matthew Manwarren

Joe Mitchell

Anne Violanti

990 Financial Report

990 Form

RHSO 990EZ 2017-2018 (pdf)


990 Schedule A (pdf)


990 Schedule 0 (pdf)